Secondary Menu button for mobile only


Site Menu button for mobile devices HOME

Local By-elections

Elections BC oversees campaign financing and advertising rules for local by-elections in B.C. This includes publishing the names and mailing addresses of financial agents for declared candidates and the full name and sponsorship information of all registered third party advertising sponsors. See the specific event below for details. Local governments and boards of education administer all other aspects of local by-elections. Please contact your local government or board of education for information about by-election voting and results. For details about the rules under the Local Elections Campaign Financing Act, please refer to the following information:

Current local by-elections dates and information


2017 Cranbrook By-election – October 21

For information not related to campaign financing or advertising, such as how to vote or how to file nomination papers, please contact the City of Cranbrook.

Tuesday, September 5, 2017 – Saturday, October 21, 2017 Election proceedings period
Tuesday, September 5, 2017 –
Friday, September 15, 2017
Nomination period
Saturday, October 21, 2017 General Voting Day
Friday, January 19, 2018 Financing disclosure statement filing deadline
Monday, February 19, 2018 Financing disclosure statement late filing deadline with $500 late filing fee

2017 Lions Bay By-election – October 21

For information not related to campaign financing or advertising, such as how to vote or how to file nomination papers, please contact the Village of Lions Bay.

Tuesday, September 5, 2017 – Saturday, October 21, 2017 Election proceedings period
Tuesday, September 5, 2017 –
Friday, September 15, 2017
Nomination period
Saturday, October 21, 2017 General Voting Day
Friday, January 19, 2018 Financing disclosure statement filing deadline
Monday, February 19, 2018 Financing disclosure statement late filing deadline with $500 late filing fee

2017 Vancouver School District (SD39) By-election – October 14

For information not related to campaign financing or advertising, such as how to vote or how to file nomination papers, please contact the City of Vancouver.

Tuesday, August 29, 2017 – Saturday, October 14, 2017 Election proceedings period
Tuesday, August 29, 2017 –
Friday, September 8, 2017
Nomination period
Saturday, October 14, 2017 General Voting Day
Friday, January 12, 2018 Financing disclosure statement filing deadline
Tuesday, February 13, 2018 Financing disclosure statement late filing deadline with $500 late filing fee

2017 Vancouver By-election – October 14

For information not related to campaign financing or advertising, such as how to vote or how to file nomination papers, please contact the City of Vancouver.

Tuesday, August 29, 2017 – Saturday, October 14, 2017 Election proceedings period
Tuesday, August 29, 2017 –
Friday, September 8, 2017
Nomination period
Saturday, October 14, 2017 General Voting Day
Friday, January 12, 2018 Financing disclosure statement filing deadline
Tuesday, February 13, 2018 Financing disclosure statement late filing deadline with $500 late filing fee

2017 Kamloops By-election – September 30

For information not related to campaign financing or advertising, such as how to vote or how to file nomination papers, please contact the City of Kamloops.

Tuesday, August 15, 2017 – Saturday, September 30, 2017 Election proceedings period
Tuesday, August 15, 2017 –
Friday, August 25, 2017
Nomination period
Saturday, September 30, 2017 General Voting Day
Friday, December 29, 2017 Financing disclosure statement filing deadline
Monday, January 29, 2018 Financing disclosure statement late filing deadline with $500 late filing fee

2017 Cowichan Valley Regional District By-election – September 30

For information not related to campaign financing or advertising, such as how to vote or how to file nomination papers, please contact the Cowichan Valley Regional District.

Tuesday, August 15, 2017 – Saturday, September 30, 2017 Election proceedings period
Tuesday, August 15, 2017 –
Friday, August 25, 2017
Nomination period
Saturday, September 30, 2017 General Voting Day
Friday, December 29, 2017 Financing disclosure statement filing deadline
Monday, January 29, 2018 Financing disclosure statement late filing deadline with $500 late filing fee

2017 Port Moody By-election – September 30

For information not related to campaign financing or advertising, such as how to vote or how to file nomination papers, please contact the City of Port Moody.

Tuesday, August 15, 2017 – Saturday, September 30, 2017 Election proceedings period
Tuesday, August 15, 2017 –
Friday, August 25, 2017
Nomination period
Saturday, September 30, 2017 General Voting Day
Friday, December 29, 2017 Financing disclosure statement filing deadline
Monday, January 29, 2018 Financing disclosure statement late filing deadline with $500 late filing fee

2017 Saanich By-election – September 23

For information not related to campaign financing or advertising, such as how to vote or how to file nomination papers, please contact the District of Saanich.

Tuesday, August 8, 2017 – Saturday, September 23, 2017 Election proceedings period
Tuesday, August 8, 2017 –
Friday, August 18, 2017
Nomination period
Saturday, September 23, 2017 General Voting Day
Friday, December 22, 2017 Financing disclosure statement filing deadline
Monday, January 22, 2018 Financing disclosure statement late filing deadline with $500 late filing fee

2017 Wells By-election – September 16

For information not related to campaign financing or advertising, such as how to vote or how to file nomination papers, please contact the District of Wells.

Tuesday, August 1, 2017 – Saturday, September 16, 2017 Election proceedings period
Tuesday, August 1, 2017 – Friday, August 11, 2017 Nomination period
Saturday, September 16, 2017 General Voting Day
Friday, December 15, 2017 Financing disclosure statement filing deadline
Monday, January 15, 2018 Financing disclosure statement late filing deadline with $500 late filing fee

2017 Fort St. John By-election – September 9

For information not related to campaign financing or advertising, such as how to vote or how to file nomination papers, please contact the City of Fort. St. John.

Tuesday, July 25, 2017 – Saturday, September 9, 2017 Election proceedings period
Tuesday, July 25, 2017 –
Friday, August 4, 2017
Nomination period
Saturday, September 9, 2017 General Voting Day
Friday, December 8, 2017 Financing disclosure statement filing deadline
Monday, January 8, 2018 Financing disclosure statement late filing deadline with $500 late filing fee

2017 Nanaimo By-election – July 8

For information not related to campaign financing or advertising, such as how to vote or how to file nomination papers, please contact the City of Nanaimo.

Tuesday, May 23, 2017 – Saturday, July 8, 2017 Election proceedings period
Tuesday, May 23, 2017 –
Friday, June 2, 2017
Nomination period
Saturday, July 8, 2017 General Voting Day
Friday, October 6, 2017 Financing disclosure statement filing deadline
Monday, November 6, 2017 Financing disclosure statement late filing deadline with $500 late filing fee

2017 Lake Country By-election – June 24

For information not related to campaign financing or advertising, such as how to vote or how to file nomination papers, please contact the Municipality of Lake Country.

Tuesday, May 9, 2017 –
Saturday, June 24, 2017
Election proceedings period
Tuesday, May 9, 2017 –
Friday, May 19, 2017
Nomination period
Saturday, June 24, 2017 General Voting Day
Friday, September 22, 2017 Financing disclosure statement filing deadline
Monday, October 23, 2017 Financing disclosure statement late filing deadline with $500 late filing fee

2017 Creston By-election – June 10

For information not related to campaign financing or advertising, such as how to vote or how to file nomination papers, please contact the Town of Creston.

Tuesday, April 25, 2017 – Saturday, June 10, 2017 Election proceedings period
Tuesday, April 25, 2017 –
Friday, May 5, 2017
Nomination period
Saturday, June 10, 2017 General Voting Day
Friday, September 8, 2017 Financing disclosure statement filing deadline
Tuesday, October 10, 2017 Financing disclosure statement late filing deadline with $500 late filing fee

Past local by-elections

Click here for details on local by-elections since the 2014 General Local Elections with disclosure statement filing deadlines in the past.